Vinexpo wants to organize the 2019 World’s Best Sommelier Competition


Vinexpo wants to organize the 2019 World’s Best Sommelier Competition


The International Sommelier Association will celebrates (perhaps) his 50th birthday at Vinexpo Bordeaux



On July 9,  2014 to the General Assembly of the International Sommelier Association (ASI) which took place in Reims, the General Director of Vinexpo Guillaume Deglise said that he want to organize the 16th edition of the World’s Best Sommelier Competition in Bordeaux at Vinexpo 2019.

” Our proposal was received very favourably by the Japanese President of ASI, Shinya Tasaki, and by Michel Hermet, the President of Union de la Sommellerie Française, who has made the bid for France and whom we would support in organising the event. “(Guillaume Deglise)

This date is very symbolic for ASI, as it will be the 50th anniversary of the creation of the International Sommelier Association (1969) and the 30th anniversary of the last edition held in France (1989).

What is the Best Sommelier of the World Compétition ?Capture d’écran 2014-07-10 à 10.26.50

The Competition of the Best Sommelier of the World is a contest which as its name suggests is global. It is organized every three year in one of the member countries of the ASI (Association of the International Sommelier). The ASI was created on June 3, 1969 in Reims and currently the association has more than 50,000 sommeliers in 47 countries.

The next competition of the World’s Best Sommelier will take place in 2016 in Mendoza (Argentina).

The ASI also organizes every three years competitions of the Best Sommelier of EuropeBest Sommelier of Americas and of the Best Sommelier of Asia & Oceania.

The ASI was not created only for the organization of competitions but also works on other objectives:

  • To bring together the national sommellerie associations (just one member association per country) and to promote their founding where they do not yet exist
  • To co-ordinate actions aimed at developing and advancing the profession by various means
  • To enhance the sommelier’s profession as well as educating the consumer
  • To defend the ethics of the profession

List of winners of previous editions:

  • 2013 – Paolo Basso (Italy) – Tokyo
  • 2010 – Gerard Basset (United Kingdom) – Santiago
  • 2007 – Andreas Larsson (Sweden) – Rhodes
  • 2004 – Enrico Bernardo (Italy) – Athens
  • 2000 – Olivier Poussier (France) – Montreal
  • 1998 – Markus del Monego (Germany) – Vienna
  • 1995 – Shinya Tasaki (Japan) – Tokyo
  • 1992 – Philippe Faure-Brac (France) – Rio de Janeiro
  • 1989 – Serge Dubs (France) – Paris
  • 1986 – Jean-Claude Jambon (France) – Venice
  • 1983 – Jean-Luc Colles (France) – Brussels
  • 1978 – Giuseppe Vaccarini (Italy) – Lisbon
  • 1971 – Sattanino Piero (Italy) – Milan
  • 1969 – Armand Melkonian (France) – Brussels


Jonathan Choukroun Chicheportiche